LECTURE by Alima Bissenova, Associate Professor of Anthropology at the Department of Sociology and Anthropology

at Nazarbayev University:

The construct of the "woman of the East" and the problem of her "salvation" in the Soviet and neoliberal discourses

02/09/2018

“In the early Soviet period, the idea of a“ woman of the East ”was formed as a subject / person especially oppressed and suffering under the yoke of patriarchy,“ Eastern despotism ”and“ feudal traditions. ” The goal was announced to "free the woman of the East." Unfortunately, in the course of this project of emancipation, the “woman of the East” turned from a subject into an “object” of liberation - irrational, weak-willed and helpless. For example, just such - helpless and weak-willed - "women of the East" are represented in the classics of Soviet cinema (and Soviet Orientalism) "White Sun of the Desert." However, the historiography of this period shows that women were not weak-willed subjects, they were clearly aware of their interests and, if, despite the dominant discourse and the policy of emancipation, they returned to the “bosom of tradition” (for example, they preferred “to stay at home,” and not to work for a cotton factory built especially for them) - not because they were extremely irrational, but because they chose their own scenario of life.

Building on new research on 'empowerment' - the empowerment of women, this overview lecture proposes to start a discussion about different 'scenarios' for women and different 'freedom' options that do not necessarily exclude tradition. "

 

Alima Bisenova - Assistant Professor of Anthropology, specializes in urban anthropology, anthropology of Islam, intellectual history. Conducted ethnographic research in the largest cities of Kazakhstan: Almaty, Astana, Shymkent.

Interested in issues of social and spatial mobility, as well as the expression of class and religious identities in private and public spaces in the city.

Постер: Айгеша Оспанова

В постер вовлечена работа Алмагуль Менлибаевой

"Мой Шелковый Путь к тебе XII, Архитектура как ткань" (2018)

© Almagul Menlibayeva 

Courtesy American- Eurasian Art Advisors LLC.

All. Rights. Reserved.​

© 2020 ARTCOM PLATFORM

%D0%BC%D0%B5%D0%BD%D1%8E%D1%88%D0%BA%D0%

ЛЕКЦИЯ Алимы Бисеновой, доцентки по антропологии в кафедре Социологии и антропологии

в Назарбаев Университете: 

Конструкт "женщины Востока" и проблема ее "спасения" в советском и неолиберальном дискурсах

09.02.2018

51423116_829357174062306_604777114774169
51423116_829357174062306_604777114774169

press to zoom
51497666_829357200728970_837955289468003
51497666_829357200728970_837955289468003

press to zoom
52156611_829357450728945_681189663486823
52156611_829357450728945_681189663486823

press to zoom
51423116_829357174062306_604777114774169
51423116_829357174062306_604777114774169

press to zoom
1/38

«В ранний советский период сложилось представление о “женщине Востока” как о субъекте/человеке особо угнетённом и страдающем под гнётом патриархата, “Восточного деспотизма” и "феодальных традиций." Былa объявлена цель “освобождения женщины Востока.” К сожалению, в ходе реализации этого проекта эманcипации, “женщина Востока” превратилaсь из субъекта в “объект” освобождения - иррациональный, безвольный и беспомощный. Например, именно такими - беспомощными и безвольными - "женщины Востока" представлены в классике советского кино (и советского Ориентализма) "Белое Солнце Пустыни." Однако, историография этого периода показывает, что женщины не были безвольными субъектами, они чётко осознавали свои интересы и, если, несмотря на доминирующий дискурс и политику эмансипации, возвращались в “лоно традиции” (например, предпочитали “сидеть дома,” а не работать на специально для них построенной хлопчатобумажной фабрике) - то не потому что были исключительно иррациональны, а потому что выбирали собственный сценарий жизни.

Основываясь на новых исследованиях об "empowerment" - расширении прав и возможностей женщин, эта лекция-обзор предлагает начать дискуссию о разных “сценариях будущего” для женщин и разных вариантах “свободы,” которые не обязательно исключают традицию.»

 

Алима Бисенова, ассистент профессор антропологии, специализируется в городской антропологии, антропологии ислама, интеллектуальной истории. Проводила этнографические исследования в самых крупных городах Казахстана: Алматы, Астане, Шымкенте.

Интересуется вопросами социальной и пространственной мобильности, а также выражением классовой и религиозной идентичностей в частных и публичных пространствах в городе.

51712163_826908817640475_948086534211371

Постер: Айгеша Оспанова

В постер вовлечена работа Алмагуль Менлибаевой

"Мой Шелковый Путь к тебе XII, Архитектура как ткань" (2018)

© Almagul Menlibayeva 

Courtesy American- Eurasian Art Advisors LLC.

All. Rights. Reserved.​