According to Zygmunt Bauman, we live in a world of accelerating change, generating instability and uncertainty, in a period of “fluid modernity” that metaphorically characterizes the globalizing world. Looking into the future through the foreseeable past, we stumble upon the ruins of abandoned settlements, ideologies, failed systems and social superstructures. What makes us see the future in the disturbing light of the past? Perhaps this is the impossibility to immerse yourself in and comprehend local and global historical processes - a mass of punctuation marks without a dot sign? Nevertheless, we strive to start life from scratch, just like Astana, but the shadows of the incompleteness of the past are visible in the reflections of the glass facades . Constructive analysis, honesty and knowledge will help us get answers in this limitless dialogue over time .

Astana is a new city that did not choose its own history either during the development of Celina, or in the case of the transfer of the capital. The city, which has grown in the steppe for 20 years in difficult climatic, economic and political conditions, has become a visiting card, center and symbol of Independent Kazakhstan, claiming to be the cultural and economic center of the Central Asian region. An accomplished mega-project, where, due to rapid changes and vertical rhetoric of the future, a man-city gap arises, in which the city dominates.

Astana, like other megacities, is prone to growth problems. Today we see in the city space the coexistence of dimensions of the past - the right bank, the present - the left bank and the future - the EXPO territory. The effect of novelty and temporality is tangible in the air of the young capital. Goro Janes are mostly internal migrants, looking at the city through the prism of consumption in search of new prospects and opportunities. Often arrived for "a month or two"

stay here for years, and continue to think by inertia that there is still “nobody and nothing” in Astana. The philosopher Antonio Gramsci designates such periods with the concept of “interregnum” in the modern interpretation, “that the old no longer works, and the new has not yet been born. Or it was born, but we still do not notice it ... "

The discrepancy between form and content can be found both in people and in the urban environment of a metropolis: the illusion of physical distances between objects, infrastructure and communication, projected onto the collective qualities and society of the city.

In our study, the city, as an object of sociological knowledge, appears as an object of artistic reflection. If we recognize that the city is primarily its inhabitants, who are of true value, then what solutions can artists offer to develop a friendly public space in the city? How to appropriate Astana, make it personal and thereby help a person find his place in space among large-scale buildings and “weathered” distances.

 

Time and Astana: After the future

 

Aigerim Kapar , curator

Browse catalog

View exposition and works

DECEMBER 22, 2017 - JANUARY 22, 2018

 

Participants

Aigerim Ospanova

Aisulu Shaikenova

Almagul Menlibayeva

Aida Adilbekova

Aida Isakhankyzy

Anar Aubakir

Anvar Musrepov

Armine Chilingaryan

Arman Sain

Askhat Akhmedyarov

Balnura Nusipova

Bakhyt Bubikanova

Bekezhan Albosunov

Gulnur Mukazhanova

Gulmaral Tatibaeva

Zhenis Nurtasuly

Kanat Beisekeyev

Kuralay Meirbekova

Kulyash Zhumadilova

Roman Zakharov

Saule Dyusenbina

SUINBIKE

Sabina Kuangalieva

Fatima Omir

Tutors

Almagul Menlibayeva

Askhat Akhmedyarov

Curator

Aigerim Kapar

More information in links and media mentions:

© 2020 ARTCOM PLATFORM

%D0%BC%D0%B5%D0%BD%D1%8E%D1%88%D0%BA%D0%

Согласно Зигмунту Бауману, мы живем в мире ускоряющихся изменений, порождающих неустойчивость и неопределенность, в периоде «текучей современности», который метафорично характеризует глобализирующийся мир. Всматриваясь в будущее через обозримое прошлое, мы натыкаемся на руины оставленных поселений, идеологий, неоправдавшихся систем и социальных надстроек. Что заставляет нас видеть будущее в тревожном свете прошлого? Быть может это невозможность погрузиться и осмыслить локальные и глобальные исторические процессы - масса знаков препинаний без знака точки? Тем не менее, мы стремимся начать жизнь с чистого листа, так же как и Астана, но в отражениях стеклянных фасадов проглядываются тени незавершенностей прошлого. Получить ответы в этом безграничном диалоге со временем нам поможет конструктивный анализ, честность и знание.

Астана – новый город, который не выбирал свою историю ни при освоении Целины, ни в случае с переносом столицы. Город, выросший в степи за 20 лет в сложных климатических, экономических и политических условиях, стал визитной карточкой, центром и символом Независимого Казахстана, претендующий на культурный и экономический центр Центрально- Азиатского региона. Осуществленный мега-проект, где из-за стремительных изменений и вертикальной риторики будущего возникает разрыв человек-город, в котором город доминирует.

Астана, как и другие мегаполисы подвержена проблемам роста. Сегодня мы видим в пространстве города сосуществование измерений прошлого - правый берег, настоящего - левый берег и будущего - территория EXPO. Эффект новизны и временности осязаемо витает в воздухе молодой столицы. Горожане в большинстве своем - внутренние мигранты, в поисках новых перспектив и возможностей смотрят на город через призму потребления. Зачастую приехавшие на «месяц-два»

остаются пребывать здесь годами, и продолжают думать по инерции, что в Астане до сих пор «никого и ничего нет». Философ Антонио Грамши обозначает такие периоды понятием «interregnum» в современной трактовке, «что старое уже не работает, а новое еще не народилось. Или народилось, но мы его еще не замечаем...»

Несоответствие формы и содержания можно обнаружить как в людях, так и в городской среде мегаполиса: иллюзии физических расстояний между объектами, инфраструктуры и коммуникации, проецирующиеся на коллективные качества и социум города.

В нашем исследовании город, как объект социологического знания, предстает объектом художественной рефлексии. Если мы признаем, что город – это прежде всего его жители, представляющие истинную ценность, то какие решения могут предложить художники для развития дружелюбного общественного пространства в городе? Как присвоить Астану, сделать ее личной и, тем самым, помочь человеку найти свое место в пространстве среди масштабных построек и «выветриваемых» расстояний.

 

Время и Астана: После будущего

 

Айгерим Капар, куратор

Просмотр каталога

Просмотр экспозиции и работ

22 ДЕКАБРЯ 2017 - 22 ЯНВАРЯ 2018

 

Участники 

Айгерим Оспанова

Айсулу Шайкенова

Алмагуль Менлибаева

Аида Адильбекова

Аида Исаханкызы

Анар Аубакир

Анвар Мусрепов

Армине Чилингарян

Арман Саин

Асхат Ахмедьяров

Балнура Нусипова

Бахыт Бубиканова

Бекежан Альбосунов

Гульнур Мукажанова

Гульмарал Татибаева

Женис Нуртасулы

Канат Бейсекеев

Куралай Мейрбекова

Куляш Жумадилова

Роман Захаров

Сауле Дюсенбина

SUINBIKE

Сабина Куангалиева

Фатима Омир

Тьюторы

Алмагуль Менлибаева

Асхат Ахмедьяров

Куратор

Айгерим Капар

Больше информации в ссылках и упоминания в медиа: 

© 2020 ARTCOM PLATFORM

%D0%BC%D0%B5%D0%BD%D1%8E%D1%88%D0%BA%D0%